CALL FOR PAPERS -- IEEE GLOBECOM 2011

Signal Processing for Communications Symposium

Symposium Co-Chairs

Yunxin (Jeff) Li, NICTA, Australia [jeff.li@nicta.com.au]

Hung Nguyen, The Aerospace Corporation, USA [hung.h.nguyen@aero.org]

Nallanathan Arumugam, King's College London, UK [arumugam.nallanathan@kcl.ac.uk]

Scope and Motivation

Smart signal processing has been the driving force behind the recent advancement in communication systems, characterized by higher speed, higher energy or spectrum efficiency and reliability, and lower latency, cost, power and form factors. The Signal Processing for Communications Symposium welcomes papers dealing with all aspects of novel development in theory, analysis, algorithm, modelling, simulation, implementation, experimentation, standardization and applications.

Of special interest are the design of novel algorithms and schemes for communication systems, performance analysis and practical implementation. The issues addressed in this symposium include, but are not limited to, distributed estimation and detection, low-power, low-cost and low-complexity signal processing, cross-layer optimization for signal quality enhancement, advanced beamforming, jointly optimal solutions for modulation, coding, estimation, synchronization and detection, channel modeling and its effects for transmitter/receiver adaptation and spectrum sensing. Also of great interest are state-of-the-art signal processing methodologies, theories and practices in prevalent communication standards such as 3G/4G, LTE/LTA, WLAN, WMAN, WiMAX, UWB, DSRC and gigabit wireless.

In addition to the conventional domain of communications signal processing, we also encourage papers that explore new frontiers. Examples include, but not limited to, the information fusion for complex multi-modal, multi-sensor, multi-source, multi-user, multi-application and multi-platform communication systems; signal processing techniques that help the communication needs for people with disabilities such as autism.

Main Topics of Interest

- Adaptive Antennas and Beamforming
- Blind Signal Processing for Communications
- Channel Characterization, Estimation, Modeling and Equalization
- Multi-user Systems
- SISO, SIMO, MISO, MIMO Systems
- Single-carrier, OFDM and Multi-carrier Systems
- Novel Signal Processing in LTE/LTA and Other Emerging Systems
- New Signal Processing Techniques in CDMA or WCDMA
- Space-Time Processing and Decoding
- Signal Detection and Synchronization
- Software Defined and cognitive Radio
- Text, Speech, Image and Video Signal Processing
- Multimedia Communication Technologies
- Spectrum Shaping and Filters
- Signal Processing for Spatial, Temporal, Code and Spectral Diversities
- Transmitter, Receiver, Modulation and Coding Techniques
- Adaptive Signal Processing
- Processing for Security and Privacy
- Collaborative Communication and Positioning
- Cognitive and Affective Computing
- Human Communication Behavior, Emotion and Feeling Recognition
- Sensor Information Fusion
- Green and Sustainable Communication Techniques

Technical Program Committee

Maaruf Ali, Oxford Brookes University, United Kingdom Nallanathan Arumugam, King's College London, United Kingdom Mohammad Banat, Jordan University of Science and Technology, Jordan Jeremy Blum, Penn State University, USA Wei Cao, Alcatel Shanghai Bell, Singapore Joseph Cavallaro, Rice University, USA Hongyang Chen, University of Tokyo, Japan Yifan Chen, Newcastle University, United Kingdom Jinho Choi, Swansea University, United Kingdom Tao Cui, California Institut of Technology, USA Kanapathippillai Cumanan, Loughborough University, United Kingdom Luc Deneire, University of Nice, France Guido Dietl, DOCOMO Euro-Labs, Germany Brian Evans, The University of Texas, USA Rob Evans, NICTA, Australia Shengli Fu, University of North Texas, USA Kazuhiko Fukawa, Tokyo Institute of Technol., Japan Feifei Gao, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore Javier Garcia-Frias, University of Delaware, USA Abolfazl Ghassemi, University of victoria, Canada Mohammad Ghavami, London South Bank University, United Kingdom Monisha Ghosh, Philips Research USA, USA Alex Grant, University of South Australia Kazunori Hayashi, Kyoto University, Japan Jianhua He, Swansea University, United Kingdom Jianqiang He, Broadcom Inc., USA James Hicks, Aerospace Corp., USA Kenichi Higuchi, Tokyo University of Science, Japan Xiaojing Huang, CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia Hakan Johansson, University of Linkoping, Sweden Sangarapillai Lambotharan, Loughborough University, United Kingdom Navid Lashkarian, Broadcom Inc, USA Xianfu Lei, Southwest Jiaotong University, P.R. China Yunxin (Jeff) Li, NICTA, Australia Tiffany Jing Li, Lehigh University, USA Tongtong Li, Michigan State University, USA Yabo Li, Zhejiang University, P.R. China Hai Lin, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan Zhu Liu, AT & T Laboratories, USA Wing-Kin Ma, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Christoph Mecklenbrauker, Vienna University of Technology, Austria Wai Ho Mow, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong Wai Pang Ng, Northumbria University, United Kingdom Hung Nguyen, The Aerospace Corporation, USA Ha Nguyen, University of Saskatchewan, Canada Shuichi Ohno, Hiroshima University, Japan Naohisa Ohta, Keio University, Japan Uzoma Onunkwo, Sandia National Lab, USA Pravinkumar Premakanthan, Fujitsu Semiconductor, USA Jonathan Rodriguez, Instituto de Telecomunica 珲 es, Portugal Takahiko Saba, Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan Puthusserypady Sadasivan, Technical University of Denmark Dilip Sarkar, University of Miami, USA Riccardo Scopigno, Istituto Superiore Mario Boella, Italy Byonghyo Shim, Korea University, Korea Shigeru Shimamoto, Waseda University, Japan Daniel K. C. So, University of Manchester, United Kingdom M. Reza Soleymani, Concordia University, Canada Heidi Steendam, Ghent University, Belgium

Weifeng Su, State Univ. of New York at Buffalo, USA Yi Su, University of California, Los Angeles, USA Himal Suraweera, National University of Singapore, Singapore Ananthram Swami, Army Research Lab., USA Lee Swindlehurst, University of California at Irvine, USA Leszek Szczecinski, INRS-EMT, Canada Osamu Takyu, Tokyo University of Science, Japan Tomohiko Taniguchi, Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd, Japan Chintha Tellambura, University of Alberta, Canada Arunkumar Thangavelu, Vellore Institute of Technology, India John Thompson, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom Cenk Toker, Hacettepe University, Turkey Nghi Tran, McGill University, Canada Charalampos Tsimenidis, University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom Chin-Liang Wang, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan Dong Wang, Philips Research North America, USA Ludong Wang, Booz Allen Hamilton Inc., USA Xianbin Wang, University of Western Ontario, Canada Ian Wells, Swansea Metropolitan University, United Kingdom Kainam Thomas Wong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong Hsiao-Chun Wu, Louisiana State University, USA Jingxian Wu, University of Arkansas, USA Xiang-Gen Xia, University of Delaware, USA Chengwen Xing, Beijing Institute of Technology, China Jinhong Yuan, University of New South Wales, Australia Yuriy Zakharov, University of York, United Kingdom Azzedine Zerguine, KFUPM, Saudi Arabia Xi Zhang, Texas A&M University, USA Jian-Kang Zhang, McMaster University, Canada Li Zhang, University of Leeds, United Kingdom Wei Zhang, University of New South Wales, Australia Yimin Zhang, Villanova University, USA Weihua Zhuang, University of Waterloo, Canada