CALL FOR PAPERS - IEEE GLOBECOM 2012 Selected Areas in Communications Symposium Power Line Communications and Smart Grid Track

Scope and Motivation

Power Line Communications (PLC) technology is successfully being deployed for utility applications, communications access and in-home systems, and considered for in-vehicle communication systems. Recently, PLC has also attracted attention as a key element of the communication infrastructure to enabling the Smart Grid concept. In fact, the need for reliable bidirectional communication between grid elements to allow smart metering, monitoring, control, reconfiguration, protection, and operation of electric power systems is driving considerable R&D&I efforts worldwide. Against this background, we solicit contributions on modeling, design and analysis of current and future PLC systems as well as their integration into the Smart Grid. Furthermore, contributions related to Smart Grid communications which emphasize hybrid solutions employing PLC together with other communication technologies are of great interest for this symposium.

Topics of Interests

Smart grid communications, controls and protocols In-home, access, in-vehicle networks Capacity planning, resource allocation and scheduling PHY and MAC layer protocols Congestion and admission control Coexistence, interoperability, cognitive and cooperative systems Cross-layer optimization Modeling and performance evaluation PLC channel characterization and measurement Measurement data from testbeds, field trials and commercial deployments Regulation and standardization EMC

Paper Submission: 15 March 2012 Paper Acceptance: 1 July 2012 Camera-Ready: 1 August 2012

Symposium Chair

Moisés Ribeiro, Fed U of Juiz de Fora, Brazil mribeiro@engenharia.ufjf.br

Technical Program Committee

Andrea Tonello, U of Udine, Italy Bahram Honary, Lancaster U, UK Cecilia Galarza, U Buenos Aires, Argentina Daisuke Umehara, Kyoto U, Japan Francisco Canete, U of Malaga, Spain Haniph Latchman, U of Florida, USA Hendrik Ferreira, U of Johannesburg, South Africa Jose Antonio Arrabal, U of Malaga, Spain Klaus Dostert, U of Karlsruhe, Germany Lutz Lampe, U of British Columbia, Canada Marcello Campos, Fed. U Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Masaaki Katayama, Nagoya U, Japan Michael Koch, Devolo, Germany Moises Ribeiro, Fed. U Juiz de Fora, Brazil Pierre Siohan, France Telecom, France Ralf Lehnert, Tech. U Dresden, Germany Srinivasa Prasanna, IIIT, India Stephan Weiss, U Strathclyde, Scotland